How To Clean Your Iron

Recently I had to clean my iron – the inside! I read about a dirty iron messing a freshly made garment on Karen’s blog at didyoumakethat and decided to clean mine, photograph and put it up on my Blog, for those who have never done this before. Keeping the insides clean prevents the iron spitting all over you gorgeous garments.

I have two irons and decided to clean them both at the same time so you will see photos of both interchanged throughout this post.

Right let’s go.

You will need you iron, water to fill the iron, a metal pan like a saucepan or cake pan and an empty sink.

1. First fill your iron with water to the full mark.

2. Set the heat setting to the highest possible, which is usually cotton/linen and turn the steam off.

Iron set to Cotton/Linen.

3. Plug into your power point and switch it on. Leave it to heat for 5 mins.

4. While it is heating, go get your saucepan or metal pan and place into your sink. Leave the sink plug out.

5. When Iron has heated for 5 mins switch it off at the power point and unplug it.

6. Turn the steam setting to the fullest possible. If you have an iron with a cleaning function turn the steam switch to clean.

Iron settings and how to lay over metal pan.

7. Lie the iron down like when you are ironing, across the pan in the sink. (Photo above). You will need a metal pan so that it can cope with the hot water that will slowly drip out of the holes on the bottom of your iron. Be careful not to burn yourself and be careful to ensure the water does not drip onto you or anyone else.

8. Leave it laying there for 1/2 to 1 hr. Water will slowly drip out of the holes and with it will come all the dirt from the insides. (See picture below) Not all water will drip out, especially if it is really dirty like mine was.

It didn’t look that bad before I started; I promise! Hangs head in embarrassment.

  One of my irons was very very dirty and I had to do this cleaning process about 5 times -well actually I lost count! When it was really dirty not all of the water would drip out.

But it did come clean. This is what dripped out and lots more.

When you are happy with the iron and think it is clean enough, you will need to wipe the base of the iron with a soft moistened cleaning cloth. I forgot to get a photo but now those holes are all un-clogged.


Important notes:

(If you have a Self-Clean function the steam control button may be able to be removed. Do so after the water has finished dripping out)

(Some newer irons have a function that prevents water dripping out in certain situations. Hopefully if your iron has that function it will also have the Self-Clean function to enable the water will drip out).

If it doesn’t have the self clean function you may have trouble with cleaning in this manner but I do suggest you give it a go.

Please let me know how it works out for you.

3 thoughts on “How To Clean Your Iron

  1. I will try this today! My Rowenta has started sputtering white flakes and making those awful noises… I’m sure you know what I mean. I read somewhere that we aren’t supposed to put any cleaning solutions in the Rowenta, so I was at a loss on what to do. Yes, I had held the self-clean button down and some stuff came out, but my arm started aching after a bit. Perhaps allowing it to sit on it’s own will help.

Leave a Comment

