My Space Saving, Cutting Table

Hi ya,

Gorgeous warm, sunny day here in North Queensland and we’re right in the middle of a great week.

I read a while back on Karen’s Blog over at didyoumakethat that she cuts out on the floor. Not an option for me due to aged skinny bony knees and stiff joints but it got me thinking. I had previously cut on the dining table but it has its drawbacks, getting around it is hard and our table often has piles of stuff there waiting to go home. It’s our dumping place!

Any how hubby got me a piece of ply 92 x 100 cm which I started to use on the table as it was wider than the table. He sanded one side for me so that it didn’t catch on the fabric and pull threads. I recently thought to try putting it on the ironing board as a better option. I can adjust the height, full height is perfect for working also I can plant it right it the middle of the room and walk all around it. It’s super. When not in use I store the ply wood behind a cupboard in the spare/sewing/computer room. It is only a few mm thick so takes little room. I do need use care when I place heavy items but it’s not been a problem so far.

My home made temp space saving cutting table

Now I just gotta get/make one of those wrist pin cushions, I know it will also make life easier.

Hope you are having a good week.

5 thoughts on “My Space Saving, Cutting Table

  1. Like this idea! I too have limited cutting space….and it’s too low …will show this to DH :-). Re wrist pin cushion…I found mine at Spotlight…nothing fancy and rather poorly made but I absolute think its the best way to keep pins available. Will keep an eye out for ‘how to make’ instructions and let you know!

Leave a Comment

